El Centro

On Friday afternoon my parents, Jason, and I walked to Hell’s Kitchen for some Mexican food at El Centro. My sister and I first wandered into El Centro on her 21st birthday last November and both of us enjoyed super girly drinks – sangritas – layers of frozen margarita and sangria.

Unfortunately I had to go back to work afterward, so no sangritas were consumed this time, but we did have some yummy food. First up, Mexican corn on the cob, aka elote asado, smothered in thick cream and crumbly cheese.

That’s a rich lollipop.

My mom and I also split an order of Baja shrimp tacos. Holy beer battered, deep fried shrimp. I definitely didn’t need more than one of these, especially after the smothered corn.

With its eclectic decor – chandeliers lined with bottles of Corona, tabletops embedded with bottle caps from Mexican sodas, and booths upholstered with flowery vinyl tablecloth – and rich small plates, El Centro is an experience best shared. Just avoid the veggie wrap; Jason was quite underwhelmed, and nobody wanted a bite of that.

El Centro is located at the corner of Ninth Avenue and 54th Street.

El Centro on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

